2017 MCMA Awards

2017 Rules & Regulations

On November 10, 2017, the Manitoba Country Music Awards, presented by the Manitoba Country Music Association (MCMA) and Dauphin’s Countryfest, will be held at The Metropolitan Entertainment Centre by Canad Inns in the heart of Downtown Winnipeg. This is an evening not to be missed as we bring the province’s largest country music community together. Several of Manitoba’s top country acts along with host Leanne Cater from QX 104 will entertain guests as the prestigious awards are handed out to the highest-voted artists.

With the exception of two awards that are voted on and determined by the MCMA Board of Directors, the MCMA Awards will go through a two-stage ballot process. MCMA membership is split in to two factions: Associate (Fan Only) members and Industry members. All MCMA members will be eligible to participate in the First Ballot (Nominate). Only MCMA Industry members will be eligible to participate in the Second Ballot and must be registered with the MCMA as an Industry member by October 1, 2017. Fans’ Choice will appear on the Second Ballot as well as an Online Public Voting Ballot. The public and MCMA Industry member vote tallies will be combined for a total number of votes to determine the winner of the Fans’ Choice Award. Click here to learn more about MCMA memberships and to register as a member of the MCMA.

We strongly encourage fans and industry members to spread the word and vote as we celebrate Manitoba’s country music talent.

All final nominees are required to be Industry members of the MCMA as of September 1, 2017, in order to be eligible to participate in the Second Ballot. Click here to view the Rules and Regulations for the MCMA Awards.

The MCMA is looking for sponsors and supporters of the event. If you are interested, or know of any individual, group or businesses that maybe interested, please email the MCMA at manitobacma@gmail.com.

First Ballot opens – July 1, 2017
First Ballot closes – August 14, 2017
TOP EIGHT (8) NOMINEES ANNOUNCED – September 1, 2017
Second Ballot opens – September 1, 2017
Second Ballot closes – October 16, 2017

Voted by Membership
Female Artist of the Year
Male Artist of the Year
Group or Duo of the Year
NCI FM Aboriginal Country Music Award
Song of the Year (Songwriters)
Roots Artist, Duo or Group of the Year
Emerging Artist
All Star Band of the Year – Guitar
All Star Band of the Year – Bass
All Star Band of the Year – Drums
All Star Band of the Year – Specialty (Banjo, Fiddle, Mandolin, Keys, Steel)
Music Video of the Year
Single of the Year
Album of the Year
Radio Station of the Year
Radio On-Air Personality or Team of the Year
Festival or Event of the Year
Venue of the Year

Voted by Membership and Online Public Voting
Fans’ Choice

Selected by the MCMA Board
Impact Award
Hall of Fame Inductee

Manitoba Country Music Association